Digital Literacy Tools

Standard

I read a article that spoke about 10th grade students hosting a hand on learning session for teachers on familiarizing themselves with various digital tools, and applications all to enhance learning in the classroom. When I read this, I thought how cool is this? Then I chuckled because in this day and age it’s my opinion that children and young people have a wealth of knowledge on applications and other types technology some of which I have never heard of. When I was in school many moons ago, education was about the teacher standing in front of the class telling you what you were going to learn and then at the end of the week you were tested on what she told you. Nowadays, its more about doing, understanding and making growth.

“The sophomores demonstrated an awareness of multiple technologies, competence in using data analysis, and other digital-literacy skills that a growing number of educators and technology advocates say should be taught and assessed more regularly by K-12 schools. No longer just about how to use digital tools to gauge abilities in core academic areas, assessments, in their opinion, need to also measure a mastery of more abstract skills—ones closely aligned to the technology skills students will need to succeed in the workplace.” I have to totally agree with that statement. Since I have been a teacher, I have been in countless workshops about students meeting mastery and how will this particular teaching apply to real world situations. Before Common Core Standards I don’t think much emphasis was put on teaching content that students could use in real life situations, but now that is not the case. Before entering grad school, I had not given much thought to digital literacy nor did I fully understand it. But now I have a better understanding of what digital literacy is and what I can do as a teacher to incorporate it into my lessons. It think it’s about collaborating, staying safe and communicating effectively. It’s about cultural and social awareness and understanding, and it’s about being creative. It goes well with the common core standards which are students use digital media and environments to communicate and work collaboratively, including at a distance, to support individual learning and contribute to the learning of others. 1) Interact, collaborate, and publish with peers, experts, or others employing a variety of digital environments and media 2) Communicate information and ideas effectively to multiple audiences using a variety of media and formats just to name a few. I have even set up my classroom differently in order to encourage collaboration.

A good number of students that I teach have a twitter, facebook or instagram account, what better way to take something that these kids spend a lot of time on and already know how to use and use it in the classroom to teach reading! I spoke with a co-worker of mine the other day, and she had set up a twitter account for her classroom. She told me that they had been reading a story aloud in class she would post questions about he story and had the students post their answers or comments, they were also allowed to comment on others students responses as long as it related to what they were discussing.She told me that the students were really into it and they enjoyed it immensely. I now feel a little more comfortable with this form of teaching and I’m looking forward to trying it out.

Resources:

http://www.edweek.org

http://www2.futurelab.org.uk/resources/documents/handbooks/digital_literacy.pdf

Leave a Reply

